Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ESCs and the Propeller — Parallax Forums

ESCs and the Propeller

BTQuadBTQuad Posts: 2
edited 2013-05-16 15:07 in Robotics
I'm a member of a student engineering team, and we're working to build a quadcopter. Currently what we have set up is four Turnigy 2210A motors wired to four Turnigy AE-20A ESCs. Although two of the four ESCs shipped faulty, we still want to have the other two rotors spin for the sake of show at our presentation next week. We're having some trouble programming the ESCs though. I think a large part of our difficulty comes from our inexperience with the way that parts made for RC work (the entire team only has experience with rather basic digital electronics), so I figured it couldn't hurt to ask the community.

The manual for the ESCs says that to enter the programming menu, you set the throttle to the full position (Does this not mean a constant stream of 1's?), and then connect the battery to the ESC. It should then make a sort of "ding-ding-ding
ding-ding-ding-ding-ding
warble-warble" set of sounds.

Just giving the ESC a constant stream of 1's fails to make it entire into the programming menu. A stream of 101010101010 (equal frequency) makes it enter into programming mode, but if that is high, I don't know what the low throttle signal should look like.

I guess my question is, if I'm trying to emulate the signals that a RC transmitter would send, what do the full throttle and low throttle signals look like?

Attached is a picture of the current build just in case.
WP_20130515_002.jpg
1024 x 1819 - 187K

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2013-05-15 19:57
    Hobby ESCs use the same control signals as servos. It would be a good idea to practice with a servo before using the ESCs. (You do not use a constant stream of ones.)

When you say two of the ESCs shipped faulty, how do you know? Are you using a RC receiver to control them?