Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using the Propeller for Behavioral Research: The Propeller Experiment Controller — Parallax Forums

Using the Propeller for Behavioral Research: The Propeller Experiment Controller

varnonvarnon Posts: 184
edited 2013-06-13 05:57 in Robotics
Okay, so I can officially announce this project now.

I am a doctoral student studying behavior analysis and comparative psychology. Essentially, I study learning. For many types of learning experiments, using an experiment controller and an automatic apparatus is extremely helpful and some times required for a good experiment. I have been developing a series of objects to enable the Propeller to operate as an experiment controller. First a little bit of background on why I have been doing this, then I will get to what exactly it is.

One of the most popular ways to study learning is to provide an animal with stimuli and contingencies that relate stimuli and specific behaviors to rewards and punishment. Some of you may recognize the term operant conditioning, this is but one form of learning that my field explores. Decades ago, behaviorism became quite popular, and automated operant conditioning chambers were used to study pigeons and rats as model organisms for basic learning laws. Years later, this type of apparatus is still very popular, but modern psychologists rarely have the skills to make their own equipment.

Ultimately, researchers must buy commercial equipment. This is extremely expensive. The controllers cost thousands of dollars and I have actually been quoted $110 for an omnidirectional lever! I think the prices are inflated because grant money allows it. Unfortunately, it has gotten to a point where you cannot set up a lab or buy new equipment with out a substantial grant. Additionally,