Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe Bot Servo Testing — Parallax Forums

Boe Bot Servo Testing

jplrobotjplrobot Posts: 12
edited 2013-06-12 11:36 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I am a beginner following the Boe Bot instruction manual and have a question arising from pulsing the servos at Pages 59 through 61.

1. I have successfully centered both servos
2. Both servos run as commanded in clockwise and counterclockwise direction
3. After a few cycles of testing, program says "scanning ports ......" and stays stuck in this mode
4. Exiting the program and reconnecting has not remedied the situation
5. I thought the battery pack was low but the pack shows 6V as the batteries are fresh

Any thoughts as to what may be the cause? I have gone back and run the earlier code snippets and they run without a glitch.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2013-05-06 08:36
    Batteries are always suspect. Servos can draw a lot of current and even if your no-load voltage read 6V, they can still be low. Try brand new batteries, which will probably read ~6.4V initially.
  • AirbearAirbear Posts: 5
    edited 2013-06-12 09:36
    I have gone through the Robotics with the Boe-Bot book once now, and I am returning to go back and have some fun. I charged up a fresh new 9V battery, barely used, made sure it was fully charged and plugged it in. I ran a simple program that tests the servos. I used the command straight out of the book, It did everything like, "Program Running!", It was successful uploading to the Boe-Bot, but the servos never budged. I have done this before and they have worked but even with fresh out-of-package batteries, the servos never worked. I know they are centered and adjusted using the screwdriver correctly... Please help! Note: I am not using the prongs that plug into the breadboard, I am using the built in servo ports.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-06-12 09:47