Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Solar Tracking with Basic Stamp — Parallax Forums

Solar Tracking with Basic Stamp

Tru CustomTru Custom Posts: 13
edited 2013-05-25 15:46 in BASIC Stamp
Good afternoon!
I am a student and this my 1st post. I have built a pan-tilt device driven by Parallax Standard Servos and am using the BS2 on BOE rev d board. I am following the Student guide from Parallax by the name of this post.
The problem is that the student guide specifies a separate motor control and drives including a gear-head motor and pneumatic cylinder and I am using only parallax components.

The debug screen reads the RCTIME across the reverse-biased LEDs and does respond slightly to the light through the tilting action but is not consistent and is will tilt downward almost the whole way but when the light is moved up it will only move sightly. BUT, it will not respond at all in the horizontal axis even though the debug displays the decay in the RCTIME. I have built the circuitry to move both axis with pushbuttons and when that program is running the horizontal axis (Pan or Azimuth) moves perfectly and the the vertical axis (Tilt or Altitude) response is somewhat simular to the tracking program.

I have completed the BOE-Bot course last fall and this is an extracurricular project that I have requested to build to cap the 1st year of my EE degree, I am scheduled to demonstrate next Wednesday for the Advisory Board and am hoping to find a summer internship.
This project is beyond my current education but I find the study of Electronics fascinating. My studies in the fall will involve more advanced circuit logic and robotics.

If anyone can review the source code and see the error of my ways, I would be most appreciative.
I tried to create and attachment but this did not work so I have pasted the code below. Any help that you can give would terrific!!

Best regards, Tru
'Indoor Light Tracker.BS2

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}