Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need Help with simple programming (beginner) — Parallax Forums

Need Help with simple programming (beginner)

CelestialDemonCelestialDemon Posts: 20
edited 2013-05-07 18:13 in BASIC Stamp
ok, I will make this simple and straightforward. I am new to programming and its hard to find exact information on how to do exactly what i want to do. My project is a 4-way stop sign stop where, using mini photocells, program 4 lights that are attached to the stop signs (1 for each stop sign) that detect when a car is stopped at the sign and if multiple cars approach the intersection simultaneously, which one gets to go first. This has to be like a real life situation, where once a car leaves, its light will go off and the person who's 2nd in line to go, their light will go on etc. Im not sure how to loop all of these together in the program or how to make it "remember" which sensor was detected 2nd and so on.

This is all i had so far to start, which made 1 light go on when the sensor was covered and the light would go off when the sensor was uncovered. (using basic stamp editor 2.5.3 and stamp bs2 and version 2.5)

input 1
output 2
RUN:
if in1 = 0 then RUN
high 2

OFF:
if in1 = 1 then OFF
low 2

goto RUN

or something along those lines..i cant remember for sure, but any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.. i dont know all the commands and stuff so I know there is something someone out their knows that will help. thank you!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-04-24 06:47
    First of all, you'll need to learn "the commands and stuff". There's no way around it. The "BASIC Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual" and the "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial are the mainstays of learning how to use the Stamps. Make sure you have copies and become familiar with them.

This is a school project, so we really can't do it for you, but we can give you advice and answer specific questions.