Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Requesting help with serial communication between Proto Board and Matlab (or other) — Parallax Forums

Requesting help with serial communication between Proto Board and Matlab (or other)

mneuertmneuert Posts: 9
edited 2013-07-01 10:26 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi all,

I'll preface this by saying that while I have a fair bit of programming in Matlab and Python under my belt, and some electronics knowledge, I'm very new to serial communication. It doesn't seem to complicated in principle, but I'm still getting used to all the jargon, etc.

I'm working on a project that uses an infra-red (IR) sensor as a trigger to cause a sound file to play on a computer. I'm pretty sure it's possible to do everything I want on the Proto Board itself: keep the sound files on an SD card, send sound signals using the proto board, etc. That is something I think would be very interesting to get into down the road, but for now, I'm just interested in:
  • having the IR trigger a voltage change
  • have that voltage change read by the board
  • have the board tell the computer the trigger has been activated, and
  • have the computer play a sound file
I've managed to build a working circuit that uses an IR LED as a source and a phototransistor as a sensor. The IR beam hitting the sensor corresponds to a low voltage state (binary state 0), while breaking the beam corresponds to a high voltage state (binary state 1).

I've written a program to load onto the Proto Board that reads these voltages on pin 0, and communicates them to the Parallax Serial Terminal.

Code here:
CON
_xinfreq = 5_000_000
_clkmode = xtal1+pll16x               'The system clock is set at 80MHz

OBJ
  pst: "Parallax Serial Terminal"     'call parallax serial terminal object

'PUB Main | T1, T2, TT
PUB Main

pst.start(115200)             'start terminal

dira[0]~                      'set P0 as an input

repeat
    pst.str(string("the binary state of Pin 0 is",9))