Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Background PWM — Parallax Forums

Background PWM

wcumminswcummins Posts: 12
edited 2013-04-08 07:22 in BASIC Stamp
hi, I'm new to Basic Stamp. I've been looking at the commands and was wondering if it is possible to get a background PWM. That is a continuous PWM without the restraint of Duration?

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-04-07 07:29
    No. The Basic Stamp is a single threaded microprocessor. It can do only one thing at a time. When the PWM statement is executing, it produces a pulse stream whose average on time is what is specified. When the duration period is over, the pulse stream ceases. It's intended to be used with an RC network to charge the capacitor to a desired voltage (Digital to Analog Converter). To get a continuous true PWM signal, you'd need to use some kind of external device, something like a 556 dual timer or another microprocessor.

The Propeller, because it's a multiprocessor (8 independent cores), can do this. It's possible for a Basic Stamp to approximate this in some circumstances, by interleaving code for generating the pulses with other things. Servo motors are slow enough for this. They only need a PWM pulse about once every 20ms and the pulse width ranges typically from 1ms to 2ms. That leaves about 18ms for the Stamp to do other things.
  • wcumminswcummins Posts: 12
    edited 2013-04-07 07:35
    Thanks Mike for explaining that! Wayne
  • CuriousOneCuriousOne Posts: 931
    edited 2013-04-07 09:57
    Actually, multi-core and number of threads often have nothing to do with PWM. A lot of MCUs contain separate PWM circuit, which could be run on it's own, but I never heard any of manufacturers calling such MCU's "multi-core" devices :D
    edited 2013-04-07 10:20