Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic BOE Shield Robot issues with servos and power drain — Parallax Forums

Basic BOE Shield Robot issues with servos and power drain

drosenbauerdrosenbauer Posts: 4
edited 2013-03-22 17:59 in Robotics
Hello all, As you can see, I'm new to the forum and I'm also new to robotics, so please go easy on me. :) I've followed the BOEShield tutorial through to the end, meaning that I was able to get my robot working with the IR headlights. I don't own a PING))) sensor, but I have a couple of other ultrasonic sensors (HC-SR04) from another project, so I decided to use those instead. I left the IR headlights online and also installed the HR-SR04 sensor separately. The biggest difference between the two is that the SR04 has four pins (it uses different pins for triggering and reading the echo pulse) compared with the PING)))'s three pins. Here's a datasheet for the one I'm using: www.micropik.com/PDF/HCSR04.pdf

When the robot senses an object within 15 cm using the SR04 sensor, it checks the IR sensors to see which way it ought to turn. If there's an object nearby to the right, it should turn left, etc.

The issue I'm having is that changes in motion of the servos are making them stutter and jerk, rather than moving in the required direction, about 90% of the time. Once they're moving, they continue moving fine (i.e. a clockwise-moving servo will keep going until I give it another command). The stutter looks an awful lot like what they were doing before I balanced them per the tutorial's instructions, but instead of sending them a "stop" signal, they're stuttering when I send them "full counterclockwise" or what have you.