Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
embed txt file in index.htm ? — Parallax Forums

embed txt file in index.htm ?

lfreezelfreeze Posts: 174
edited 2013-03-22 16:10 in Accessories
Thanks Mike G for some really brilliant work.

I am new to the Spinneret forum. I have had success implementing the tutorial, and can access my
Spinneret. I did stumble with the setup of my Belkin router but was able to overcome those issues.

I want to attempt the following project:

1. Write variables of sensor values once each minute to the SD card on the Spinneret board,
As a txt file.

2. Embed the txt file in Index.htm.

3. Every 24 hours erase the txt file and start a new one.

This will allow a view of a log “the txt file” over a 24 hour period each time the spinneret is
Accessed.

.I believe I have the skills to accomplish items one and three. I need help/direction with item two.
Is it possible to embed at txt file in Index.htm or is there an easier way to accomplish this.

Thank you!

Larry

Comments

• Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2013-03-19 15:01
    Larry, the easiest thing to do is request the text file directly. For example,
    http://123.123.123.123:5000/"the txt file"

If you want to do something fancy then you'll need to HTMLize the txt file on the fly.
  • lfreezelfreeze Posts: 174
    edited 2013-03-19 16:41
    Thank you for the quick response. Your solution worked perfectly. Made me laugh as
    I spent about two days trying all kinds of exotic solutions before posting.

Larry
  • RforbesRforbes Posts: 281
    edited 2013-03-21 15:57
    Larry,

In regards to your message:

For a simple SD card file creation, you might try something like the following:
    (Note: the FileExists method is a method down towards the end of the HTTPServ spin file.)
    pub Create_log

SDCard.closeFile                                         'This'll close the file if it's open and does nothing if it's already closed... either way, it's closed after this.