Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HB-25 Motor Controller and Fan Control — Parallax Forums

HB-25 Motor Controller and Fan Control

Ryan83Ryan83 Posts: 3
edited 2014-04-17 00:02 in BASIC Stamp
Hey all,

Let me start by introducing myself as this is my first post here. I have a background in Mechanical Engineering and took an interest in electronics while I was college. I have no training in electronics other than the Stamps in Class series which I have done most of and the allaboutcircuits.com site. The programming I find to be relatively easy but the circuit/electronics design can give me trouble at times. I have been using the Basic Stamp (BS2) for well over 5 years. I have never had to ask a question on here before as I have always been able to find an answer in these forums or in other documentation provided by Parallax. I would like to extend a very appreciative thanks to the knowledgable folks who contribute to these forums and to Parallax for the awesome documentation.

Having said that, I will give you some background on my project the details of which are somewhat sensitive. I am involved in a project that is essentially a heat transfer problem and my part is to design experiments to determine the effectiveness of the system and optimize it for use in an end product. To do this, I am using the BS2 on a BOE controlling a fan (datasheet attached), measuring temperatures at various locations, measuring power usage and collecting that data for output to excel. I would say that this is by far the most involved project I have done with the BS2 as I have taken a number of shortcuts to reduce output pins and programming space required. If the initial trials prove that the concept can work, I will likely be purchasing the Professional development board and the BS2p40 to enhance the capabilities.