Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TCS3200 - Color Sensor - Student Project (French) — Parallax Forums

TCS3200 - Color Sensor - Student Project (French)

LowiSkyLowiSky Posts: 5
edited 2013-03-15 09:18 in Accessories
Hello,

First of all, I would like to apologize for my bad english, indeed, I'm a French Student of only 16 years old. I came here to ask you some questions about the color sensor "TCS3200" (this one). We bought it a few weeks ago, and we still don't know how it works.
We can't buy a motherboard, because we've about 200€ (thereabouts 260$) for this project.

Our aim is to create a ball sorter. We've 1,6cm (thereabouts 0,6 inch) balls of various color (RGB and Yellow).
To sort them, we've chosen to use a worm wheel with a tray on which we fixed a jack and a suction cup. To control that I use a industrial and progammable automaton (TX07) with a Grafcet Programm.

The problem is actually to detect the color of the ball with the TAOS TCS3200 and to send it on the API (with an electrical flow maybe). Is there somebody who has already make that here ? Or somebody who could guide me ?

Thank you in advance,
Best regards !

PS : If you want some sketch, don't hesitate.

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2013-03-14 11:18
    Data for the TCS3200?
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-03-14 11:53
    Here is the Parallax webstore page on this sensor. There are links on the right side of the page about halfway down the page. These link to documentation and sample programs for the Parallax BASIC Stamp and the Parallax Propeller microcontrollers. The TCS3200 produces a series of pulses with the frequency of the pulses proportional to the intensity of the light through 1 of 3 color filters (red, green, blue) or unfiltered.
  • LowiSkyLowiSky Posts: 5
    edited 2013-03-14 14:14