Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Getting XStick ZB to communicate with XBee ZB RS-485 Adapter — Parallax Forums

Getting XStick ZB to communicate with XBee ZB RS-485 Adapter

Spit1ASpit1A Posts: 5
edited 2013-03-11 10:18 in Accessories
Hello,

I have never worked with XBee devices before and am a little lost. I was hoping to get some guidance if possible.

I have an XStick ZB and a XBee ZB RS-485 adapter. What we would like to happen is to have the adapter send the strain gague output to the XStick where it can be recorded by the computer. The XStick is plugged into a Windows XP pro laptop.

I have installed the XStick drivers and I believe the XStick is working ok since
when I click the 'Test/Query' button in X-CTU it says communication with the modem is OK. The modem type is XB24-ZB.

I'm unsure as to the next steps required to get the XStick to talk to the XBee RS-485 adapter.

In X-CTU, when I read in the modem configuration, the Function Set selected is 'ZIGBEE ROUTER AT'. Does this need to be changed to a Coordinator?

Thanks very much.

Tim

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2013-03-04 12:40
    Yes, flash it as coordinator using X-CTU. The coordinator assigns the network addresses to the routers and endpoints, and it can also choose a clear channel and other parameters. Best start off with the factory defaults on both ends.

You might be able to send data directly router to router, without a coordinator, by using the MAC addresses explicitly, but that may still require that the network be initialized by a coordinator.
  • Spit1ASpit1A Posts: 5
    edited 2013-03-04 13:04
    Hi Tracy,

Thanks very much for the quick reply!

When I select the 'ZIGBEE COORDINATOR AT' function set and click the 'Write' button, the write fails. I get a message saying that X-CTU has lost connection with the modem.

Do you know what might be causing this? Does the 'Always Update Firmware' option have to be selected?

Thanks

Tim