Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
NEWBIE, Writing a program that reads resistance or voltage values. — Parallax Forums

NEWBIE, Writing a program that reads resistance or voltage values.

Frank FernandezFrank Fernandez Posts: 12
edited 2013-02-26 15:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,thanks for having me, although I have a degree from De'Vry university from the mid 80's it was just a tech degree. I fully understand board level compoenets but am completely dirt poor in programming. So I'm a total newbie here but have been wanting to to this for years. I have the basic stamp educational kit and have run thru the lessons. Now I want to start developing my own toys.

What I need to do is write a program that see's either varying resistance and or voltage values that I can draw from to enact certain functions.

Sorry for what I assume is a silly question but I have to start somewhere.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2013-02-17 14:36
    Sure, you can use the RCtime function easily to measure various resistances easily, and voltages with a little more work.

Check out RCTIME and report back, soldier! :)
  • davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2013-02-17 14:40
    ...welcome Frank.

Another DeVry alumni? Which location?

I attended in Phoenix, '70 - '73.
  • Frank FernandezFrank Fernandez Posts: 12
    edited 2013-02-17 14:43
    Thank you, reading up on that command now.
    edited 2013-02-17 14:45
    The old Woodbridge NJ campus from 86-88, It's a mall now like we need more of those. They moved the campus further north Jersey, not sure where.
    edited 2013-02-17 14:52
    Calling ERCO,

Did a fast search and found this article- http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/vol1/col/nv15.pdf

Extremely concise and well written. Thanks for the lead.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2013-02-18 09:09