Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB RFID to Raspberry pi — Parallax Forums

USB RFID to Raspberry pi

PtoTheSchkePtoTheSchke Posts: 5
edited 2013-04-01 20:31 in Accessories
Sorry if this is sort of a simple question, I am pretty new to hardware.

I bought this (http://www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/txtSearch/28340/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/517/Default.aspx) USB RFID reader to connect to my raspberry pi. I cant seem to find the drivers for linux (I have a LAMP setup) and was wondering where to get those.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-02-05 16:54
    It depends on the Linux distribution you're using. I think the appropriate FTDI driver is built into the Linux kernel now for several years, so it should be "plug and play". This is for the serial to USB chip that Parallax uses for pretty much everything USB. The RFID reader should just show up as a serial port.
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2013-02-05 16:57
    Did you see this in the datasheet?
    The Parallax RFID Card Reader USB version can be connected directly to any PC, Macintosh, or Linux
    machine that has a USB port and the appropriate drivers installed. The module is powered from the host
    computer’s USB port and uses an industry-standard FTDI FT232R device to provide the USB connectivity.
    FTDI drivers are available from www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm.
  • PtoTheSchkePtoTheSchke Posts: 5
    edited 2013-02-05 17:02
    I have :Debian GNU/Linux wheezy/sidLinux 3.2.27+ armv6

will try to plug and play when I get home, thanks for the help!
    edited 2013-02-05 19:18
    Mike Green wrote: »
    It depends on the Linux distribution you're using. I think the appropriate FTDI driver is built into the Linux kernel now for several years, so it should be "plug and play". This is for the serial to USB chip that Parallax uses for pretty much everything USB. The RFID reader should just show up as a serial port.