Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Control of motors with sensors - Need help!!! — Parallax Forums

Control of motors with sensors - Need help!!!

CentryCentry Posts: 4
edited 2013-02-18 11:58 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,
I'm a german student and i need help on a project I'm doing in school. First, I apologize for my bad English, but I hope I still get quick help. I'd like to control 2 motors via sensors (2 LDRs). For that I use the BS1 and a Basic STAMP1 interface where I connect the two motors and the 2 LDRs. I want to send a signal to the motor when the first sensor lose his resistance. The BS1 should always check the status of the sensor.

(I'm new so I do not even know if that can work ... So if not, it would be good if you could explain it to me in simple words)

Here is my code:
' {$STAMP BS1}
OUTPUT 0
OUTPUT 1
INPUT 6

MP:
POT 6, 90, B0
IF B0>90 THEN MOTORSTART
IF B0<90 THEN MOTORAUS
MOTORSTART:

PIN0=1
IF PIN0=1 THEN ANFANG
MOTORAUS:

PIN0=0
IF PIN0=0 THEN ANFANG
ANFANG:

IF B0>90 THEN MOTORSTART
IF B0<90 THEN MOTORAUS
GOTO MP

END

I hope you can help me!
DSC_0119[1].jpg
1024 x 576 - 53K

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-02-03 07:24
    Why do you test IF PIN0=1 and IF PIN0=0? Isn't pin 0 an output?

Usually the way people would learn how to do this is to first write a program that would read the LDR value with POT and display the value using DEBUG. Next step would be to add the IF statements for B0 and use DEBUG again to tell you Start or Stop. Next step would be to write a separate program that starts the motor, pauses for 5000 milliseconds, then stops the motor, pauses for 5000 milliseconds, then repeats. Last step would be to take the first program and add the motor start and stop statements and test it out.

Remember that a BS1 I/O pin can only provide about 20mA, usually not enough to drive a motor. Look at Nuts and Volts Column #6 for a discussion of this.
  • CentryCentry Posts: 4
    edited 2013-02-03 10:46