Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
First Time Servo User — Parallax Forums

First Time Servo User

LadmanLadman Posts: 2
edited 2013-01-10 05:53 in Robotics
Hello to all here,

I am as noob as it gets here. I have never used servo's before nor have i ever tried to build one. I have recently gotten into costume building. Im going to PAX east this year and have decided to build an Iron Patriot costume for the new move coming out this year Iron Man 3.

I want to make the cannon on his back have the ability to flip up over his shoulder, and then follow my head when it turns. I figure i will need two servo's and a gyro so some kind mounted in the helmet to send the data of where my head is looking to the cannon and have it turn.

I know i will need some kind of controller, servos, power source, and a gryo. other than that im lost. I have look online for any kind of diagram on what the basics is that i s needed to put this together, but have turned up nothing. i don't even know where to look to be honest.

Any help on this would be MOST appreciated. The place i was looking at getting some parts from is this site:

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9347

Here is a picture of the cannon I'm looking at doing this too.

user54707_pic18742_1355045848.jpg
assembledfourviews122.jpg
1024 x 789 - 95K

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2013-01-07 19:57
    You'll need some sort of microcontroller. You didn't mention if you know how to use any of the available microcontrollers yet.

This is far from a simple project. You'll need to learn how to control servos (not hard) and read data from a gyro and acceleromter (not very hard but not trivial). Then you'll need to figure out how to put it all together.