Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Memsic 2125 Trig Formula — Parallax Forums

Memsic 2125 Trig Formula

tkcraw_NSCC12tkcraw_NSCC12 Posts: 3
edited 2013-01-03 14:41 in BASIC Stamp
Hi we are doing a college group project for measuring the amount of force impact for the memsic 2125 Accelerometer and we were wondering if anyone could help with the trig formula for determining the Gforce impact an explanation of any type would be greatly appreciated. We can measure the pulsin from the sensor we just need to be able to have the conversion to Gforce for alarming. If any additional information needed then please respond through the post or PM.

Comments

• davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2013-01-03 08:21
    Hi tkcraw_NSCC12 - welcome to the Forum!

I'm no expert with the 2125, but I did find this over on the Parallax site, which may (?) help:

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/vol3/col/nv92.pdf

Regards...
  • tkcraw_NSCC12tkcraw_NSCC12 Posts: 3
    edited 2013-01-03 08:29
    Thank you for that doc and we will take a look and hopefully that will assist us in the final process of the project
  • davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2013-01-03 08:37
    ...welcome. Here's the link to the Parallax 2125 store page:

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/AccelerationTilt/tabid/172/CategoryID/47/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/93/Default.aspx

There is more information available.

Please let us know how the project progresses?
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2013-01-03 10:02
    Those memsic sensors are somewhat delicate. Depending on how hard you're impacting them, you might alternatively consider a piezo sensor, which outputs a voltage spike from an impact. Cheap piezo disk speakers are useful for this. Measuring the peak voltage output would give you a number which could be calibrated to G-force.

FWIW, I used a piezo disk to sense taps/knocks here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFLfb1kFPow