Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
need some advice — Parallax Forums

need some advice

mobile_bobmobile_bob Posts: 50
edited 2012-12-11 05:58 in BASIC Stamp
i don't know if this is the proper place to ask this, but here goes anyway

first let me preface with this
i started dabbling with the bs2 about 6 years ago now, and i love it
i have no background in programming, know nothing of hex decimal, binary, or any of that stuff.

the guy that got me started with the bs2 later tried to swing me toward, the cubloc products, then the pic products, then something else, now he is all gaga over arduino

there appears to be a lot of hoopla over the arduino, however i am not sold on it

the reason is this, i know enough about the pbasic and the bs2 to do everything i need done, and i have no real desire to learn all the other stuff, like c++++++, machine laguage or others.

i realize there are some limitations to the bs2 however i have gotten around that by going with a master/slave architecture of my own design, very basic buss and it just works.

so now the question

why would i want to change to another product? what advantages does the arduino have over the bs2 product line?

do most folks move from one processor to another if the one they are familiar with does everything they need done?

if you guys can't of don't feel comfortable comparing the two products, maybe if someone could direct me to a link
wherein the two products are compared?

maybe i should quit listening to those that would try to get me to move to another processor and call it a day?

;)

bob g
ps. did i say i really, really like the bs2?

Comments

• davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2012-12-10 19:27
    ...gee Bob - do you like the BS2??? :lol:

Your question comes up from time to time and those that frequent this Forum have no problem discussing the differences.