Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Unable to connect Scribbler to a Microcontroller using Serial — Parallax Forums

Unable to connect Scribbler to a Microcontroller using Serial

imperatorimperator Posts: 3
edited 2012-12-09 17:27 in Robotics
Greetings
This is my first time posting on this forum so please excuse any inconsistencies.
I need help trying to connect Scribbler 2 using serial connection to Freescale MCF52259 microcontroller. http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=MCF5225X

I have a more software background and I am not familiar with kind of setup needed to allow for serial connection to take place like the mapping of pins from the board to the scribbler. The MCF52259 board has a UART module that I wanted to use.

I tried one setup in which I connected three pins, recieve, transmit and ground but the response from scribbler was just that it reset itself. The three lights would turn on and off in a sequence and then the middle light would turn on and off.
Here is the pin setup for the microcontroller:

Signal

Pin

Signal

No Connection

No Connection

TXD

CTS

RXD

RTS

No Connection

No Connection

GND

3.3V

I am following the IPRE guide for the commands to the scribbler. http://wiki.roboteducation.org/Scribbler_Wire_Protocol
The buad rate is 38400.

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-12-09 15:09