Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Experment 14 magic 8 Ball — Parallax Forums

Experment 14 magic 8 Ball

Chris123Chris123 Posts: 7
edited 2012-12-11 11:23 in BASIC Stamp
I need to convert this 8Ball.BS2 from a parallel LCD to a Serial LCD, All I need are a few simple changes.If anybody can help me that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Comments

• davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2012-12-07 10:46
    ...it looks like the text in the DATA statements would become text strings imbeded in SEROUT commands.

I'd read up on the serial LCD that you intend to use to understand it's required control characters.

BTW - welcome to the Forum!
  • Chris123Chris123 Posts: 7
    edited 2012-12-07 10:57
    I am completely new to this so i don't truly understand what your talking about, My serial LCD is just the basic one that comes with the kit from parallax.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2012-12-07 11:24
    Welcome to the forums! I only spent about 5 mins going through this and I haven't tested it (that you can do), but here is my modifications to the original code that I believe will allow this to work. The LCD baud rate is 19.2K and the constants have it connected to P12 and the button to P15. You can change these if you wish.
  • davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2012-12-07 11:48
    Well I learned something Mr. Savage - thank you!

I wasn't aware of the ability to "alias" text strings via the DATA statement.

That trick will certainly save memory in my current project as I've a number of SEROUTs with the same quoted text string. :thumb:

Thanks again.
    edited 2012-12-07 11:49
    Thank you. I appreciate the quick response, I tested it out and Its not completely working, So far I got one error and I don't know if there are more. I am looking through and will try to pin point the errors and try to fix them as well.
    edited 2012-12-07 17:14