Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
digital key combination lock code problem — Parallax Forums

digital key combination lock code problem

yaj05yaj05 Posts: 6
edited 2012-12-01 18:45 in BASIC Stamp
can anyone help me to make a program for a digital key combination lock project? i'm a newbie and wanted to build this kind of project. i wanted to interface a 4x 3 keypad to the stamp but have no idea how to start.. i hope anyone can help me with this. thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-11-29 19:06
    You start by learning how to use the Stamp and Parallax Basic (PBasic). Download a copy of the "Basic Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual" (here) and the "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial (here). Along with the Reference Manual, download the StampWorks Manual. Go through the Nuts and Volts Columns (here) for examples. Remember that a keypad is just a bunch of pushbuttons, sometimes arranged in a matrix. I think there's a Nuts and Volts example for using a keypad ... look at that.

You'll need some kind of a display or other means of feedback whether a piezo-speaker or some LEDs to let the user know that a key has been pressed, maybe indicating how far into a combination the user has gotten. In any event, you'll need to write up a detailed description of how the lock will behave under different circumstances and that'll be your starting point to discuss how this might be implemented with a Stamp.
  • yaj05yaj05 Posts: 6
    edited 2012-11-30 20:53
    thank you.
    anyway i have a little idea how to code a program. I just need the basic concept, I have to turn on a green LED if i input a 4 combination key in a sequence, and on the other hand, a red LED if i input the wrong combination. i dont need to interface an LCD, just the LED's as an indicator. I hope you can help me with the program for this one.
    edited 2012-11-30 21:38