Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Motor Mount and Wheel Kit with Position Controller on my new bot — Parallax Forums

Motor Mount and Wheel Kit with Position Controller on my new bot

Rural GeekRural Geek Posts: 17
edited 2013-02-12 08:43 in Robotics
I am just getting started in building a new bot its going to be stingray style. its going to be bigger and heavier. I am looking at around as a high guess around 50lbs or so. What I was wondering is would the Motor Mount and Wheel Kit with Position Controller part number 27971 be big enough to drive this bot with no problem? The bot will be driving on carpet and tile flooring.

Thank you for any help everyone.

Comments

• NWCCTVNWCCTV Posts: 3,629
    edited 2012-11-20 16:55
    For that price I would hope so!! If I could afford those I would have gone that route instead of the way I went but oh well, whatever works. Unfortunately they are out of stock right now. If you need HB-25's for them I have a few brand new ones for sale.
  • Tom CTom C Posts: 461
    edited 2012-11-21 05:41
    @Rural Geek,
    I believe that Ken once stated that the motor mount wheels could handle up to 50 lbs. I have a pair and they are very sturdy and are presently supporting around 35 lbs with no trouble. You might be able to find cheaper motor drives on eBay or Craig's list though.
    Regards,
    TCIII
  • W9GFOW9GFO Posts: 4,010
    edited 2012-11-21 09:26
    I am using the same motors on a robot that weighs about 80 lbs. The motors have no problem moving it around.

I am currently awaiting a response from tech support regarding the motors running hot after being run for more than ten minutes while not under load. I think it is normal but I want verification that my use is "approved", especially since I plan to make other similar robots.
  • Matt GillilandMatt Gilliland Posts: 1,406
    edited 2012-11-21 10:33
    Welcome to the Forums Rural Geek :thumb:

50# no problem.