Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PC Status Indicator Using Basic Stamp BS2 — Parallax Forums

PC Status Indicator Using Basic Stamp BS2

Peter SavoryPeter Savory Posts: 5
edited 2012-10-31 11:23 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the Basic Stamp, I am trying to use the Basic Stamp to operate out puts to control lights which will show the status of the PC that the Stamp is connected to.

1 - Output when the PC is in stand by mode and ready to receive data.
2 - Output when the PC is traferring data or recieving data.
3 - Output if there was an error transferring data or if there is a problem with the PC.

Can any one help, I have not got a clue.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-10-30 06:35
    Start by describing what you mean by the terms you used ("standby mode", "ready to receive data", "transferring data", "receiving data", "error transferring data", "problem with the PC") in terms of signals from/to the PC. If you're referring to a PC serial port, some of these terms may refer to standard signals like Data Terminal Ready (DTR) or Clear To Send (CTS). "Problem with the PC" is very vague. What sort of problem? Are you talking about a timeout of some kind? If so, you have to specify what it is. This vagueness is why you feel you "have not got a clue".
  • Peter SavoryPeter Savory Posts: 5
    edited 2012-10-30 06:57
    Mike Green wrote: »
    Start by describing what you mean by the terms you used ("standby mode", "ready to receive data", "transferring data", "receiving data", "error transferring data", "problem with the PC") in terms of signals from/to the PC. If you're referring to a PC serial port, some of these terms may refer to standard signals like Data Terminal Ready (DTR) or Clear To Send (CTS). "Problem with the PC" is very vague. What sort of problem? Are you talking about a timeout of some kind? If so, you have to specify what it is. This vagueness is why you feel you "have not got a clue".