Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp 2,LEDS,PIR motion sensor,newbie — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp 2,LEDS,PIR motion sensor,newbie

AFWSAFWS Posts: 3
edited 2012-10-28 11:49 in BASIC Stamp
OK,a complete newbie to this stuff.I'm trying to get 6 leds to go off once it's triggered by the PIR motion sensor.I've got the leds doing what I'm wanting. I just can't get the motion sensor to control em,any ideas? Found all kinds of stuff online on how to hook up leds and the PIR motion sensor.Just not how to get it to control em.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-10-27 17:19
    What PIR sensor are you using? Include a link to its documentation if it's not Parallax's.

"What's a Microcontroller?" is the introductory text for the Basic Stamps. It covers controlling LEDs and being controlled by pushbuttons and switches. Some PIR sensors act like switches. Basically, you have a program that initializes things, then waits for some signal from the PIR sensor. Once the Stamp detects the PIR trigger signal, the program stops going round and round in a loop waiting for the PIR sensor and it continues on to a portion of the program that controls the LEDs and presumably makes them indicate that the PIR sensor has triggered. After that, the program has to go back to wait on the PIR sensor again. If the PIR sensor acts like a switch, the program has to make sure that the PIR sensor has reset itself before the program waits for another trigger. This is true for switches and pushbuttons as well.
  • AFWSAFWS Posts: 3
    edited 2012-10-28 05:48
    I'm using Parallax's.Here's how I've basically got the sensor hooked up PIR-4.png

Here's how I've got the leds hooked up but in different pins.
    309895.image0.jpg
    I don't know if it's how I've got things hooked up or I'm not tell it to do the right thing? It's seems to by pass the motion sensor and loop the lights.I've tried looping, ending ,everything under the sun.

' {$STAMP BS2}