Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe BS2 running a big AGV robot — Parallax Forums

Boe BS2 running a big AGV robot

Rural GeekRural Geek Posts: 17
edited 2012-10-25 16:19 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone.

I am just starting out with Boe Bot, which is great I am having fun with it but as usual I am thinking of bigger ideas. I have a stingray chassis, which is going to be the next step from the little bot. But I am going to use the 12v motors instead of the 7.2v, and the hb-25 motor controller. So what I am wondering is 1. where would I put the servo jumper vin or vdd? That all depends on the second question which is can I just run the BS2 off the 12v battery or should I use the AA battery hold that comes with the Boe Bot kit?

What I am trying to get to that I building as I go with the boe bot is a larger robot more of a 40lbs or so size agv to play with in my home. Now am I going to be able to use the BS2 as the micro controller? I am figuring that the Propeller would work better, I just would rather stick with one micro controller to start with. Unless there is a kit like the Boe bot for Propeller?

I know this is a big general question but any guidance would be great.

Thank you

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-10-25 12:44
    To try to answer some of your questions:

1) The BOEBot is built around the Board of Education (BOE) which is a Stamp controller board. There is now a Propeller Board of Education which is intended as a mostly "drop in" replacement with extra features. You can buy the other parts that make up the BOEBot as a separate kit (the chassis, servo motors, battery holder, etc.) and combine that to make a Propeller BoeBot. I have such an arrangement sitting on the floor near me. It works well and there's a version of FemtoBasic (a simple integer Basic interpreter) for that which has some BoeBot-specific features (look at BoeBotBasic in the Propeller Object Exchange).