Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How the heck do you get started with Spinneret? — Parallax Forums

How the heck do you get started with Spinneret?

jnankinjnankin Posts: 3
edited 2015-03-14 12:23 in Accessories
I've used parallax products for many years in the past, but primarily the basic stamp line. I'm also a software developer, and my hardware experience is limited.

My question is this: I want to use a Spinneret for a project and I bought a prop plug for development, but where do I start? On the product page I see a schematic for the board and a 7 page doc on the capabilities of the board, but nothing on how to get started and perhaps a tutorial or two...

Essentially I'm looking for a list from Parallax that says something like this:
1. Install xyz software for development
2. Read the propeller manual. Do some basic propeller tutorials.
3. Attempt tutorials for networking with the spinneret - here's what it takes to make the propeller talk over the W5100 chip
4. List of links for further exploration...

Does this not exist? If not, how does everyone know so much about the spinneret? I feel like I must have missed something....

Thanks,
Josh

Comments

• mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2012-10-16 14:15
    Go here -> http://spinneret.servebeer.com:5000/

sorry, I can't make it a real link from my iPad.

This is the Spinneret tutorial that Parallax needs to link to or host for the Spinneret product page.

There is a gentleman by the name of Mike G who has made all this work for the Spinneret and is a tremendous help to the community.

By the way, welcome to the forums!!
  • jnankinjnankin Posts: 3
    edited 2012-10-17 09:30
    Perfect! Parallax, get on this!

Thanks man.

-jn
  • Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2012-10-17 09:38