Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PIR Activated Sound Effects — Parallax Forums

PIR Activated Sound Effects

black2002lsblack2002ls Posts: 4
edited 2012-10-10 20:55 in Robotics
First off, this is my first post to the forums. My background is a bit dated. I had a lot of advanced electronics courses while getting my Physics degree. That was about 5 years ago, so I'm a little rusty. Here is what I am trying to do:

Create a motion activated sound effect.

Parts:

Radioshack 20 second recording module #276-1323
Parallax PIR motion sensor #555-28027 Rev B

Here is what I'm having trouble with. The play back on the recording device triggers by closing the ground circuit. Can I use the output pin on the PIR to trigger a low voltage to the play back circuit on the recorder?

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2012-10-09 21:25
    Edit: I reread the PM, and it looks like it was targeted. Thanks!

But, the problem is interesting enough that I got hooked.

There are a few issues that I see here:
    1. IIRC, the PIR has a pulse output during motion. So, it sends a pulse every second (guess). Will this cause the module to keep restarting the playback?
    2. How is the Radioshack module record the sound clip? IIRC, it's by holding down the button. So, the PIR will have to send just one pulse to the device, not a continuous signal (low or high).
    3. How much current does the Radioshack module draw through the button? If it's small (~<5mA) you can probably just hook up the PIR in place of the button. Otherwise, you need a transistor to provide a higher current. You'd also need a transistor if the output of the PIR is opposite to what you need.

If it were me, I'd probably try just hooking up the PIR in place of the button. It's unlikely to damage anything besides the wires, and it might just work. Do so at your own risk (expense), though.

edited 2012-10-09 21:33