Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Changing a variable with a pulse. — Parallax Forums

Changing a variable with a pulse.

IroneIrone Posts: 116
edited 2012-10-01 21:20 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I need to know how to change a variable, I will call clock, by increasing the number with a positive pulse and decreasing it with a negative pulse. The variable will be a nib and I need to change it between 0 and 9. Thanks for any help.

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2012-09-29 19:28
    What's a negative pulse?
  • IroneIrone Posts: 116
    edited 2012-09-29 19:52
    Hello,

I read in the help file on pulsout that if the pin is negative, it reads positive for the specified time and then goes back to negative. Also if the pin reads positive, it reads negative for the specified time and then goes back to positive. I am using toggle to change my variable. I may be wrong thinking that a change in the plus or minus could change the value of my variable but I am new to BC2 and old in age. If this is not possible I will change my program to a 1 or a 0 and figure out a way to do it differently.
    edited 2012-09-29 22:45
    Hello.

I am a certain believer of call and effect, If you checked my previous post a signal of plus or minus should have been made to my variable, Why would they make a function that sends a plus or minus pulse if it would not affect any other function? I am very new to BS2 but am confused,
  • V-manV-man Posts: 10
    edited 2012-09-30 00:49
    Irone,