Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Distance sensors — Parallax Forums

Distance sensors

heshoyheshoy Posts: 12
edited 2012-10-08 02:05 in Accessories
Hi guys, im a student at the electromechanical department in alexandria university, Egypt.
so this is my graduation year and we decided that our graduation project would be "Active Suspension", it detects road profiles and u know "holes and bumbs" and moves the suspension vertically in order to keep a high ride quality, so im in charge of the sensors and how to process the sensor's output, so im gonna need some help with what kind of sensors should i use for detecting the depth of the road? its gonna be mounted at the bottom of the vehicle and actively measures the distance between the vehicle and the road
after all the googling ive done i found that the best option is the ultrasound distance sensor but i have no experience at all with it, so pls guys help me with any recommendations and suggestions, sorry for making it long :)

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-09-23 07:01
    Parallax has a laser range finder and an ultrasonic distance sensor. You'll find documentation and code examples on the product pages for each of these products (click on the links given).
  • heshoyheshoy Posts: 12
    edited 2012-09-23 07:25
    Thanks a lot sir.
    edited 2012-09-23 08:14
    So which do u think is better to be used in a model, indoor .. just ambient light not direct sunlight .. i want a sensor that is able to detect changes in the distance between the car body and the road and continously send outputs that are proportional to the distance measured, what is the sampling rate of these and would taking different samples continously affect the sensor (due to cross talk or presence of echo from previous sampling)?
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,255
    edited 2012-09-24 13:48