Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Active Suspension — Parallax Forums

Active Suspension

heshoyheshoy Posts: 12
edited 2012-11-09 02:52 in Robotics
Hi guys, im a student at the electromechanical department in alexandria university, Egypt.
so this is my graduation year and we decided that our graduation project would be "Active Suspension", it detects road profiles and u know "holes and bumbs" and moves the suspension vertically in order to keep a high ride quality, so im in charge of the sensors and how to process the sensor's output, so im gonna need some help with what kind of sensors should i use for detecting the depth of the road? its gonna be mounted at the bottom of the vehicle and actively measures the distance between the vehicle and the road
after all the googling ive done i found that the best option is the ultrasound distance sensor but i have no experience at all with it, so pls guys help me with any recommendations and suggestions, sorry for making it long :)

Comments

• GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2012-09-24 01:51
    The best sensors for this is some kind of laser, but then you'd be talking quite expensive stuff.
    (There are commercial equipment out there for measuring roads, mostly for wear management on asphalt, but it's a small market, so really pricy)

I fear that Ultrasonic isn't going to work very well on a moving vehicle. At least not if it moves quickly.
    (You will at least have to take the speed into consideration regarding doppler and so on, and it must be pointed forwards. It's too late to detect a bump if it's already at your wheels)
    but as this is the type of equipment that you're more likely to be able to source cheaply, it's the way to go for the moment.
    I would use at least two sensors, pointing forward in a 45degree or flatter angle, one in front of each front wheel. (pot hole detectors)
    A third one, also facing forward, in the centre can be used as a 'general quality' and reference.