Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2, few general questions — Parallax Forums

BS2, few general questions

rwgast_logicdesignrwgast_logicdesign Posts: 1,464
edited 2012-09-07 12:36 in BASIC Stamp
Ok so im fairly new to micros but not coding, and especially not basic... I started using GW-Basic and QBasic around 11/12 then moved to vb around 16, im now 28. So Im pretty confident the bs2 is gonna fit me like a glove with very little learning curve, I have been using micros for the last 6 months, but only the propeller and a little AVR here and there...

So today I won a BS Activity kit with the 2.2 book. First off I was wondering if the version 3.0 book is alot better or what the deal with that is?? Ok, secondly and most importantly!!!!!! Now that I will have this bs2 homework board I am thinking about using the bs2 where id usually use a small 8 but AVR to interface to a propeller, So I guess what I need to know is can I just program the chip on this board then pull it out and throw it on a custom pcb easily? And if so... Is it cheap to do this? I mean an AVR is like 4 dollars and lower can I get the bs chip and just program the bootloader on it for cheap? The parallax store sells the BS dips for 10 to 17 bucks, at that price its cheaper to just use another propeller.. even if its not to cost feasible to use a bs2 to serve a function like decode a keypad and then send it via 1 wire to the prop im sure it will still be such a blast to prototype things with im really looking forward to this, im not sure why I never got one earlier I dont really understand the bs2s relation to SX and that scares me a little I think. And the last question, can you use assembly language on the bs2 at all?

Comments

• RDL2004RDL2004 Posts: 2,554
    edited 2012-09-06 06:05
    You can download the newer version of the book as a .pdf
    The Activity kits use Homework boards, the chips are soldered to the board.