Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Menu with pushbutton rotary encoder and serial LCD for BS2 — Parallax Forums

Menu with pushbutton rotary encoder and serial LCD for BS2

Turnbull2112Turnbull2112 Posts: 65
edited 2012-09-03 15:29 in BASIC Stamp
I am trying to develop a user menu on a project with a push button and a rotary encoder. My device has an 8 x 2 serial LCD. I would like to get the button to enter a "configuration menu" from normal operation and be able to scroll through several setpoint screens and allow the encoder to adjust values stored in EEPROM. I just started testing the encoder this evening so I am very new to this. Here is an outline of what I would like to see.

DO
"check sensors"
"calculate and display values"
IF push button = 1 THEN GOSUB menu
else
next
LOOP
menu:
first screen
"ALARM SETPOINT = 50 %"
-At this point I would like to write the new value with the encoder and by pressing the button it would save it and continue to the next menu selection then ultimately exit back into the main routine.

Presently I am using two pots with an RCTIME value to adjust two variables. I need MUCH more flexibility than this. RCTIME is pretty squirrley and very limiting.

I know my questions are very broad and I'm looking for some simple examples that I could stitch together. I've been playing with Easy Encoder V1.0 BS2 so far but any extra advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Rob

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2012-08-30 04:52
    Rob,
    The challenge with the Stamp used with an encoder is having the code fast enough to capture pulses at the highest speed expected.

I've attached a short program that works really well with small encoders.

Cheers,
  • Turnbull2112Turnbull2112 Posts: 65
    edited 2012-08-30 06:01
    Thank you I will play around with this.