Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ON/OFF button for PIC16f877a (ambiguity) — Parallax Forums

ON/OFF button for PIC16f877a (ambiguity)

iriliasirilias Posts: 3
edited 2012-08-23 08:40 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi, I'm very new to microcontrollers and i need an ON/OFF button for my sphygmomanometer project to turn it off and on and i don't know if i did the wiring of the pic the right way or
not ?

Sans titre.JPG

if it's correct, does turning ON & OFF the pic (the way i wired it) could make any firmware glitches or some other problems ? , i'm using pic16f877a ..
i'm new at this so please bear with me (and excuse my poor english,it's not my native language).. any help at all would be much appreciated, thanks in advance .
368 x 504 - 16K

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2012-08-21 11:34
    Hello, this is not the correct forum for questions about the Pic line of microcontrollers. These forums are for Parallax brand microcontrollers. You might have better luck at http://www.microchip.com/forums/ or https://forum.sparkfun.com/viewforum.php?f=4

As a side note, I would say no, your circuit is not correct. When the button is pressed, it shorts VCC to VDD, and otherwise leaves VDD floating. Alltogether, it doesn't look correct. I would suggest looking at the Pic datasheet for some example circuits.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-08-21 12:23