Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Confused - Setup Info in PDF Help File Does Not Jive With New Basic Stamp Board — Parallax Forums

Confused - Setup Info in PDF Help File Does Not Jive With New Basic Stamp Board

helluvawreckhelluvawreck Posts: 9
edited 2012-08-07 12:42 in BASIC Stamp
Greetings all, I am a newbie here.

I am new to this forum and would like to get some help on installing my Basic Stamp Homework Board USB. In this thread I will simply call it My Board to avoid repetition of the name.

First of all, I played around with some Parallax boards about two years ago for maybe 6 months but not since then so I am a little rusty. However, I'm a very good self learner and should be able to get back up to speed quickly. I had the kit that contained the What's a Microcontroller book and went through that and I also had the robot kit and went through that. I had no problems with those two kits and never needed any help during that time.

My problem is that I want to get back in it so I thought that I would go and get a new board at Radio Shack this morning and I got My Board a little over an hour ago. Everything went great. I installed the software and drivers, etc. and then I opened the help file inside the software which was according to the instructions printed on the bottom side of My Board.

I have gotten to a page in the help file which wants me to identify My Board before proceeding in one of three ways, Board of Education - Serial, Board of Education - USB, or Basic Stamp Homework Board - Serial.

The problem is that My Board doesn't fit these choices so I don't know what to do. My Board is a Basic Stamp Homework Board USB and with it I have a USB cable and so far everything has gone well. I assume that My Board was not available when this help file was written and that maybe I don't have any problem at all but I just need a link to the correct help file that will help me get started with My Board.