Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help Needed - Custom Light Bar Project — Parallax Forums

Help Needed - Custom Light Bar Project

cman3500cman3500 Posts: 2
edited 2012-09-30 18:01 in Robotics
Hello everyone! I am just getting started in the world of electronics, although I have been a techie for most of my life... I just recently bought the BASIC Stamp 2 Kit and have started doing some basic things with it... Where I am going with this is to eventually (hopefully sooner rather than later) build my own custom light bar for my storm spotting/chasing vehicle. Light bars are expensive.. and building my own will be fun and a learning experience as well as a lot cheaper... I hope. I'm looking for some input.. I have the basic program already written in my mind of how this will work.. but I'm not sure what all I need to be able to make this light bar a reality. This light bar will be inside the vehicle mounted to the windshield of my 1998 Chevy Blazer, possibly make a second light bar for the back glass as well. This Blazer currently has the factory console.. but seeing how much equipment I already have stuffed inside of it, I will probably be making a custom console for it so that my equipment can be arranged neatly. I already have a lot of flash patterns in mind, so far i have come up with ~15. I would like my flash patterns to be basically limitless in how many I can have. This light bar will be 50" long with 48 LEDs spaced 1" apart. Each LED needs to be able to light independently. Even though it will increase cost, I would like to use RGB LEDs so that if I ever wanted/need to I could re-purpose this as a first responder light bar.

Keep in mind I currently do not know much about this stuff, and I will be learning along the way..

So.. I need suggestions on the following: