Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Designing a VGA DAC for the Propeller — Parallax Forums

Designing a VGA DAC for the Propeller

MervinMervin Posts: 8
edited 2012-08-01 16:23 in Propeller 1
I want to do VGA generation on my propeller chip for one of my projects
and since I'm new to doing that kind of thing I'm having some trouble understanding some things.
I hope someone can help me out.

- I want to use 5 bits for each color channel (RGB15)
- The setup which I would like to use is: Propeller --> 2x 8bit shift register --> Transistors --> R2R Ladder --> VGA Port (640x480 @ 30 Hz or lower if possible, 60 would be overkill)

I've looked at some examples and I've tested some things in simulation software but I can't quite figure out which resistor values to use for the R2R ladder to get a 5bit range at vcc 3.3v from 0v to 0.7v
Some examples seem to conflict with eachother even.

Sources I used:
http://www.avr-asm-tutorial.net/avr_en/AVR_DAC.html
http://www.brischalle.de/JDAC/DAC_R2R_network_calculation_en.html

My circuit:
dac_id_test.PNG
737 x 535 - 21K

Comments

• TubularTubular Posts: 4,656
    edited 2012-07-31 11:53
    Mervin,

Firstly a big Hello and Welcome.

Please have a look at this thread were I run through the calculations for a 6 bit DAC out of the prop, for Greyscale operation
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?131622-Resistor-values-for-64-GreyScale-VGA-output-from-the-Propeller

Towards the bottom of the thread Lawson uses R2R networks - 91 ohms and 160 ohms are suggested because the 27 ohm driving resistance of the prop pin drivers.

What kind of resolution are you hoping to achieve? Remember the hub ram (where the video buffer is) is 32kB, and you need to leave some space for your program.
  • MervinMervin Posts: 8
    edited 2012-07-31 14:27
    Thanks for welcoming me Tubular,

I'm reading your thread on my other monitor as I'm typing this: