Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp and solderless breadboard — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp and solderless breadboard

wozzawozza Posts: 4
edited 2012-07-29 15:42 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

My first post here. I am a newbie to the electronics and I just bought the Boe-Bot. I got it up and running and am very happy with it. :)

I want to build some circuits using a solderless breadboard. The breadboard on the Boe-Bot is a little small for what I want to do, so I need a larger breadboard.

My question is, is it possible to program the Basic Stamp using a larger solderless breadboard and build and connect all circuitry ? ( similar to the propeller chip ) , and if so could someone point me to some resources for the schematics and diagrams.

Thanks.

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2012-07-23 22:06
    Hey wozza,

Let me be the first to welcome you to the forums! The BASIC Stamp in a Boe-Bot is a great learning kit and you won't be disappointed. One easy solution to your problem is to add another breadboard about the size of the Board of Education, in a level above the BOE. Simply cut out a piece of material (acrylic, plastic, metal, etc) 3x4" and add M/F standoffs to the BOE. Mount a platform on top.

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/PropellerKits/tabid/144/ProductID/421/List/0/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName,ProductName is one example, though it's a group of three instead of one.

Run some wires from the BOE to this breadboard and you can keep the BS2 in the BOE's socket.

I'm sure other forum members will have a bunch of really good ideas.

Ken Gracey
  • wozzawozza Posts: 4
    edited 2012-07-25 19:13
    Hi Ken,

Thanks for your reply, I will give that a try.

I want to understand the circuit building side of things, current flow, resistors and all the components used to make up some basic systems like an alarm for example.