Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Advice sought - Basic Stamp 2, Inputs not changing — Parallax Forums

Advice sought - Basic Stamp 2, Inputs not changing

BryanBentzBryanBentz Posts: 2
edited 2012-07-22 15:06 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new at the Basic Stamp 2, but have a fair amount of electronics experience. I'm at the beginning of a project, and have a switch that has three positions (and three poles to solder wires to). I connect 5 volts to the center pole of a battery, and have measured (with a meter) that the two wires show either 0 or 5 volts based on switch position.

I've run these two wires to P0 and P1 (this is on a "Board of Education", that is Stamp 2 with a protoboard on a small card with a reset button, power (9v battery or connector, and other such convenient items). I have a simple program (part of a larger one, but this is the only part I'm running/testing):

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}
DEBUG CR
DEBUG "Beginning Program Execution"
DEBUG CR
'Declare the inputs:
INPUT 0
INPUT 1

' Read the switch state and report:
DEBUG "Pin 0 is: ", DEC IN0
DEBUG CR
DEBUG "Pin 1 is: ", DEC IN1
DEBUG CR
END

This seems to work (once on startup), but then, regardless of how I change the switch, the inputs remain the same. When I change the switch I hit the "Reset" button on the board, and indeed the program restarts, but reports the same inputs. I'm running this from the Parallax development environment (v. 2.5.2), with the board connected to my PC via USB.

If I stop debugging in the development environment, then restart, the program is (again) downloaded to the chip, and at this point a new run seems to find the new inputs. If I clip a meter to the exposed wire at the switch *that* sometimes causes the program to notice new inputs (making me wonder if there is some issue with the input impedance of the pins, or the path to ground.