Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Resistance / Capacitance Touch switch or sensor -- by touching 1 or more electrodes? — Parallax Forums

Resistance / Capacitance Touch switch or sensor -- by touching 1 or more electrodes?

Winston TWinston T Posts: 6
edited 2012-12-27 18:14 in Accessories
Hi Guys,

I finished reading through the 'What's a Microcontroller Kit?' and am excited about the possibilities of what can be done with electronics! This stuff is amazing! I still, however, am a complete newbie and can barely interpret much of the technical jargon on this forum!

One of the first test activities that I am interested in doing with my Basic Stamp is creating what I believe to be called either a capacitance touch switch or a resistance touch switch.

The activities that I want to achieve are:

1st) to create a "touch switch" or "touch sensor" that is sensitive enough to detect my finger touching it (which, in turn, triggers an LED light to turn on or off).

2nd) create a touch switch that is so sensitive that it could detect even an ant crawling over it or a piece of hair falling on it (which would trigger an LED light to turn on or off, as well).

and then 3rd) to make a "smart" touch switch where I am capable of adjusting or calibrating how sensitive the switch is to touch so that its (on/off) response depends on what touches it.

Is this possible using the Basic Stamp 2?

I've read in Wikipedia that:

A capacitance switch needs only one electrode to function. The electrode can be placed behind a non-conductive panel such as wood, glass, or plastic. The switch works using body capacitance, a property of the human body that gives it great electrical characteristics.