2: some good sharpies (the markers)
3: muratic acid
4:hydrogen peroxide
5:mesuring cup glass or plastic not metal
6:shallow container again glass or plastic
7:tongs glass or plastic
8: a container of water
9: a place to get rid of the waste

I bought a copper clad board from radioshack and thought out my circuit as what i wanted it to have and roughly how big i wanted it to be
i placed a 40 pin dip socket on the board with pins bent and traced the pins to the place i wanted it to be then i started drawing the traces i wanted
oh acetate can be used to erase mistakes.
results
IMG_20120624_213502.jpg
IMG_20120624_213525.jpg

front and back if you cant tell I am going for a sort of surface mount but with dip chips
well now the muratic acid mix
i used 1 part muratic acid to 1 part hydrogen peroxide
and poured just about enough to make 1 inch in the Pyrex dish i no longer use due to a chip that's key here don't use the container for food again!
some might say "na just wash it out it is fine," really i would not risk it.
then place your PCB to be in gently with tongs not fingers!
gently move or slosh the container if like me your pcb is double sided flip it with the tongs periodicly mine took about 12 minutes to go to this.
IMG_20120624_230724.jpg

and next the soldering forgive the mess i was all about speed here.
IMG_20120627_125321.jpg
IMG_20120627_125444.jpg

what you see is a board with a prop a EEprom and places for an RTC a keyboard connector the buttoncell and crystal for the RTC and the connections for the DAC for tv out and a place for my audio amp circuit and some prototyping pads.

points to note
thick ink is better.
do this in very well lit environment to make sure your lines are solid
look at the board from different angles make sure no copper can be seen through the ink
if you made a mistake don't let it worry you we all make some on our first try I made a few on this board but it still works.

all of this was
$4.15 copperclad