Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sine wave generator — Parallax Forums

Sine wave generator

Mad AMad A Posts: 17
edited 2012-07-19 22:07 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone, I am very new to the propeller, assembly, and this forum. I am trying to build a function generator and so I am trying to output a sin wave on 8 output pins to go to a D/A converter. I have successfully output a ramp, so I know my LSB and MSB are in the right place and for that function the output pins were performing as expected. I am trying to use the sine table with no success. I was hoping someone could point me in a better direction. With some embarrassment I give you what I have so far:

CON
_clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
_xinfreq = 5_000_000

VAR
byte index
byte angles[360]
'address:=@angles[0]

PUB main
repeat 360
angles[index] := index
index+=1

dira[0..7]~~

cognew(@begin,1)
address:=@angles[0]

DAT

begin mov dira,#$FF
movs ptr,address 'mov ptr,angles[0] 'Point to first array element.
:loop movs :add,ptr 'Put pointer value into add instruction's source field
add ptr,#1 'Increment the pointer. (Due to pipelining, there has to be at least one instruction here.)
rdlong sin,address 'move value stored at address into sin
:add add address,0-0 'add ptr to address

call #getsin 'call get sin
'wrlong sin,sin 'write value of sin to sin

mov outa,sin 'write sin to output pins
djnz ctr,#:loop 'decrement counter and restart loop
movs ctr,#360 'Initialize counter.
movs ptr,address
jmp #:loop

getsin test sin,sin_90 wc 'get quadrant 2|4 into c
test sin,sin_180 wz 'get quadrant 3|4 into nz
negc sin,sin 'if quadrant 2|4, negate offset
or sin,sin_table 'or in sin table address >> 1
shl sin,#1 'shift left to get final word address
rdlong sin,sin 'read word sample from $E000 to $F000
negnz sin,sin 'if quadrant 3|4, negate sample
getsin_ret ret ' (this subroutine adapted from Prop manual)

sin_90 long $0800
sin_180 long $1000
sin_table long $E000 >>1
sin long 0
ptr long 0
ctr long 360
address long @address