Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
could use some help with buttons, cycles and starting/stopping — Parallax Forums

could use some help with buttons, cycles and starting/stopping

LBwaterCoLBwaterCo Posts: 6
edited 2012-06-18 15:58 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I've been a lurker here for a week or so now, good info here.
I recently got assigned a project at work and the boss handed me a BS2.
I haven't had much experience with the Basic Stamp , but I think I got the hardware part figured out, and some coding (for testing my buttons)

So,
what I am trying to do is set up a timer / cycle changer for our water tanks.
I have been reading and I think I may need a clock chip to get my timings correct, but for now I suppose pauses would work.

I have been checking the forums and manuals but without much success.
Seems I start adding code and things just stop or I find another command that may do something my convoluted coding was trying to accomplish.
I am not a programmer, I'm a PC tech. Gimme a screwdriver and I can turn it like no other. :)

What I would like the program to do is, (start/stop/select cycles and ring a bell when finished)
I have 2 buttons and the parallax LCD to work with.

From startup:
press start button (IN0) run cycle 1 (runs a timer) or select a cycle with IN1(advance +1)
when timer is complete It will hit a relay for a bell (for now I'm using the LED from the kit on IN15)
to shut off the LED press the start/stop button (IN0)
then to advance the cycle +1 press (IN1) (there will be 7 cycles)
start current cycle use Start/stop button (IN0)
and repeat for all 7 cycles

Not sure if this outline of operations would be the way to go, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
I will continue to read the manuals and hopefully find something.

Here is what I have for my buttons

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

PRESS VAR Bit
STATE VAR Bit
SEROUT 3, 84, [12]
PAUSE 500
SEROUT 3, 84, 18, [ "Regen Timer" , CR, "SELECT A CYCLE" ]

DO