Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp and Servo for Clock motor — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp and Servo for Clock motor

armysaxmanarmysaxman Posts: 2
edited 2012-05-28 20:10 in BASIC Stamp
I've got a woodworking project to build a clock. I have been looking for the right motor setup and came across the Parallax site. The plans for the clock include schematics for power supply and motor controller in order to use a stepper motor, which I would be OK with doing. But once I saw the Parallax site, I'm thinking that maybe I could use the continuous rotation servo motor and a Basic Stamp module. Would be about the same in $, and is already mostly assembled and tested. I wouldn't need anything like the Propeller since I wouldn't need to touch it once I got the correct speed set. The motor will be turning two large wooden gears at 1 RPM "forever".

Since I am brand new to this whole thing, I'm just looking for feedback from the experienced folks as to whether or not this would work.

Thanks ahead to those who respond!

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-05-28 10:15
    Continuous rotation servos are much easier to use than stepper motors.

While any microcontroller could easily control a CR servo, I'd think it would be much easier to adjust the timing with a Propeller than with a stamp.

One problem you may have is how precisely you can control a CR servo. I'm not sure if the speed would be consistent enough over a long time period. A stepper has a definite advantage over a CR servo when it comes to speed control.

If you do use a CR servo, a Propeller would be able to control its speed with twice the precision of a BS2. A QuickStart (with a Propeller) costs much less than any of the Basic Stamp options.
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-05-28 10:24