Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Way to make the basic stamp wait for an input? — Parallax Forums

Way to make the basic stamp wait for an input?

TboneHTboneH Posts: 2
edited 2013-08-14 10:44 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys, I need some help. I'm no expert, so don't kill me if I say something stupid. What I have is a slide carriage and switch system. I want the carriage to slide along until it hits a switch (wired normally open), and then stop. I'm using a plain old BS2 stamp, and I already have my switch and carriage motor wired to it. For now, we'll just assume that my motor output is pin 15, and my switch input is pin 0. I've tried using an IF THEN system that looks kinda like this:

IF (IN0 = 0) THEN
HIGH 15
ELSE
LOW 15
ENDIF

However, my carriage motor is very fast (it's out of an inkjet printer if that helps you imagine it). What ends up happening is that by the time the stamp recognizes that switch has been pressed, the motor is past it, and it doesn't shut off. What I want is for the stamp to send a high to 15 until it receives an input at pin 0 and then continue with the rest of the program. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-05-11 20:37
    Try this to wait until IN0 goes low:
    DO WHILE IN0: LOOP

It that's still not fast enough, you will probably have to hardwire something to stop the motor on time.

-Phil
  • tobdectobdec Posts: 267
    edited 2012-05-12 00:28
    TboneH, is is a good ol fashioned brushed motor or a stepper? If its a stepper then that is why your overhead is eating all your resources. Although even then it should recognize that switch in due time. Maybe put the switch ahead of where it should be...I know it sounds ghetto but it might just be what you need.
  • TboneHTboneH Posts: 2
    edited 2012-05-12 16:29
    Thanks guys. Phil, that appears to be what I need. Right now, this is what I've got:
    DO WHILE IN0=0:
    HIGH 15
    LOOP