Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Acquired a robot chasis — Parallax Forums

Acquired a robot chasis

stythysstythys Posts: 2
edited 2012-05-15 12:33 in Robotics
Hello I am a little new to robotics, I've always been fascinated but just now started to dive into actually working on them. I started a robotics club at my college and one of my professors had a BOE laying around for us to play around with. He also gave us a chasis that goes with it and its a little older but seem just fine I was just wondering if anyone has any experience with this type of chasis. I've looked around and have been unable to find any like it. Since it has a cage that goes around it I was wondering how people went about puting sensors on it and whatnot. If I have to I could just cut the cage off but rather not. Here are some photos and thank you for any advice.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/77995486@N03/7147169119/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/77995486@N03/7147167347/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/77995486@N03/7147165527/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/77995486@N03/7001078490/in/photostream

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-05-08 06:31
    That's a very cool robot chassis!

I don't think you should cut the cage off. It's a great structure to attach sensors to.

Here are my suggestions:

Get a QuickStart board or two. Right now Gadget Gangster is giving away their QuickProto boards with every QuickStart they sell.

While your at GG pick of one of their uSD modules.

That bot is crying out for ultrasound sensors. One of our regular (and extraordinary) forum members erco, found some inexpensive sensors on eBay. It would look cool if each of the eight sides of your bot had an ultrasound sensor but two or three would also work well.

While you're getting stuff off of eBay, grab at least two of these Nordic modules. With a second Prop, you could use the Nordic module to send data back to a basestation/remote control.