Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Underwater ROV serial communication and other questions — Parallax Forums

Underwater ROV serial communication and other questions

AndrewParsonsAndrewParsons Posts: 13
edited 2012-05-01 09:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,
First I would like to say thanks to the community for helping me get this far in my project. In truth this is my first attempt at programming and using a micro controller to do my bidding. In the past I did everything using servos and switches. Although I have ran through the education courses with Parallax and have done all the projects.

I have tasked myself with making an Underwater ROV. I plan to use one are two Basic Stamp 2sx. One stamp (below sea-level) will read sensors and control 6 thrusters by using the Propeller Servo Controller to PWM to six ESC. I will also be using the Prop Servo Controller to manipulate an underwater arm. All the motors are brushless (Including underwater servos) and have been tested underwater. Each ESC will be powered from a 3s poly 5000mah battery that will be housed in Otter Boxes along with all the components. As for video I have not quite figured that out but it will most likely be a netcam with pan and tilt that I power below and break the lines out to the surface. If anyone knows how many pairs from the cat 6 a netcam will need please let me know? As for communication from surface to the ROV I plan to use RS-485 Communication; actually this is one of my questions. Above I mentioned using 1 or 2 Basic Stamp 2 SX, does it make more sense to use a microcontroller on the surface with pots to control the ESC using RS-485 Signal? Or does it make more sense to use SparkFun BOB-09822 for communication and Make a VB6 program (like RoboRealm) to control the ESC and display sensor reading?