Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Novice questions on what exactly is a Spinneret capable of. — Parallax Forums

Novice questions on what exactly is a Spinneret capable of.

eiplannereiplanner Posts: 112
edited 2012-04-23 10:49 in Accessories
I have no knowledge whatsoever on servers and web programming but I am curious as to what the Spinneret does, what you use it for, benefits, etc...

I am wondering how close the Spinneret and all of it's current objects are to being a completely stand-alone internet access point. As an example of what I'm trying to understand: I know that there are thumb drives currently on the market for purchase that can be plugged into a USB port on an internet capable computer and run a completely independent software (from the thumb drive) that allows the user to operate a browser with it's own dynamic (anonymous) IP address as well as upload/download files to sites and all the other normal capabilities associated with being online without anything whatsoever being left as a trace on the host computer that the thumb drive was plugged into. This allows what might be considered as near 100% private browsing as technology currently provides. You unplug it, take it with you and all your history and favorites come with it. It can be used on any computer with internet access.

I'm wondering is this something the Spinneret could possibly achieve given the right programming or am I way off base thinking this is what the Spinneret does.
Like I said, I don't even know what really the Spinneret is. Sorry if I'm so far off.

My though process is that if the Spinneret has these capabilities then would it be possible to program it to locate hot spots and other wireless points and be a completely stand alone anonymous browser.

Comments

• Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2012-04-21 20:25
    The Spinneret is a UPD/TCP device with many capabilities; DHCP, Web Server, Email, Time Services. Check out the product page for more information.