Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
GPS Distance Tracking — Parallax Forums

GPS Distance Tracking

codysprakercodyspraker Posts: 46
edited 2012-04-22 18:15 in Robotics
I am looking to make a simple program that can track the distance that is traveled with the gps from Parallax. The project I am looking to complete is a program that can track your distance when the program is started. The functionality would mimic a car odometer. It would continue to track the distance traveled until a reset button is pressed and then the distance would be set back to zero. Does anyone know where to find where a code like this could be found or know if this is a realistic project? I am very new to the GPS sensor and hoping to get some insight into how to work with it. Thanks for the any help!

Comments

• prof_brainoprof_braino Posts: 4,313
    edited 2012-04-21 07:00
    Sounds doable.

To clarify the requirement, you want to recieve GPS sentences, extract the position, and log all the positions?
    OR do a delta from the previous position?
    There could be a LOT of positions, so you can include a requirement for large memory storage, SD card is a simple solution for that.

Summary: Collect your requirements, and subdivide each requirement unti you have something you can code.
    Do experiments with the chunks of code until you know what it is you want the code to accomplish.
    THEN write the final code. (I'm a process guy, I say this stuff a lot).

I'm also a forth guy. If you want to do this interactively (fast and fun, with lots of immediate gratification) download propforth and install it on you prop board. The serial comms and SD support are included, all you have to do is follow the GPS datasheet, and the solution pretty much jumps out at you. (At lest it does for me and a couple other folks, your experience may chance during actual gameplay).

In any case, continue to post your evolution of requirements and code and we will try to help.