Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Anyone have an object or Demo for the VPN1513 (#28506) GPS in SMART mode? — Parallax Forums

Anyone have an object or Demo for the VPN1513 (#28506) GPS in SMART mode?

SeekerSeeker Posts: 58
edited 2012-04-16 18:16 in Propeller 1
I have tried a few objects that I found for other GPS modules, but haven't found one that works yet. I know I could port the BS2 code over, but I was hoping someone had already done it and could point me in the right direction (no pun intended, well okay, maybe a little).

I did find this http://www.parallaxsemiconductor.com/an002 which has a working demo of NEMA string parsing, but I was looking for one that worked in SMART mode, not RAW mode.

Anyone have something I can use?

Thanks!

Comments

  • kuronekokuroneko Posts: 3,623
    edited 2012-04-15 23:43
    Did you check out this thread [thread=138669]GPS VPN1513 extended Firmware[/thread]?
  • SeekerSeeker Posts: 58
    edited 2012-04-16 14:36
    Yeah, and I was thinking for the future using the extra resources of the GPS would be a good idea. I am pushing it with the design I am working on now, trying to fit it all into one Prop. But for now I am just going to use it as a GPS.

    It looks like it should be simple to use with the !GPSx command structure. I have never used a one line bidirectional serial terminal before though, so I wasn't quite sure how that was going to work. Plus I was trying to keep it as small as possible, hoping to use the most minimalist terminal structure. That is why I was wondering if anyone had something already working I could hack apart to see how it worked. Preferably with a small footprint serial driver like Simple_Serial. But if not, once I see how it is done, I could convert it over.
  • msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,709
    edited 2012-04-16 15:03
    Hi @Seeker,

    the one-wire-interface was one of the reasons i rewrote the gps-firmware.

    My version gives you also a serial interface on pin 30/31 of the gps-module vpn1513.
    it is running with 115200 baud and is standard serial 2-wire

    I am testing now a updated version with the newer 4port-serial Tracy Allen (re-)wrote.

    I guess I will update the thread above today with Version 2.1 ... by now all tests doing good.

    You can look at the source of the firmware and easy change to whatever you need.

    Basically it has 2 modes of using it.
    Either using the serial-command-interface (now in three flavors - original bninary for stamps etc - longs for propeller - string for PST-testing)
    Or just write your own stuff - the vpn1513 is a complete propeller - and include firmware.
    All values of the gps are available as Public Methods/Functions.

    enjoy!

    Mike
  • msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,709
    edited 2012-04-16 15:17
    hmm. after reading this i think i should explain the serial interface a little more.

    The original firmware has commands described in the pdf.

    You have to send commands to the gps and get answers in return.

    all commands start with "!GPS" and then you send the command-byte.

    this command-byte in the original fimware is 0 to 13 ($0-$D)

    the response is as described in the pdf - using WORDS as MSB/LSB and not LSB/MSB like the propellor does.

    very inconvient for propeller-user.

    My firmware does support these commands also BUT does provide 2 more command-sets.

    command-bye $20-$2D gives you the same information as the commands above but as longs in propeller-format.

    and command-byte "0"-"D" gives you the same information as the commands above but as strings (for testing in PST etc)

    enjoy!

    Mike
  • sidecar-racersidecar-racer Posts: 82
    edited 2012-04-16 15:33
    Seeker,
    I'm using Smart interface with simple_serial. Just send a command as msrobots says, the responses are bytes, so look at table in docs so you don't ask for too many.
    Msrobots, have you posted new firmware set yet?
    Rick Murray
  • msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,709
    edited 2012-04-16 15:48
    Hi Rick !

    YES - just now (top post of ffirmware-thread)

    enjoy!

    Mike
  • SeekerSeeker Posts: 58
    edited 2012-04-16 15:57
    Seeker,
    I'm using Smart interface with simple_serial. Just send a command as msrobots says, the responses are bytes, so look at table in docs so you don't ask for too many.
    Msrobots, have you posted new firmware set yet?
    Rick Murray

    Okay, I will give it a try tonight. One more question, in the docs I see command-bytes of $0 - $ A and not $1 - $D. Do I have old docs, or is the PDF on the website (Parallax) missing a few?

    I just downloaded the most recent one from Parallax... Still $0 - $A.
  • msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,709
    edited 2012-04-16 16:14
    Hi Seeker,

    you have the latest pdf. and the commands go from 0 to A not 1 to A. My bad - corrected the post above.

    But my Firmware has MORE commands as the original - therefore 0 to D or 20 to 2D or "0" to "D" depending on how you want your response.

    the original commands (as described in the pdf) return BYTES and WORDs but not really useful with a propeller since you need to swap bytes as the propeller needs LSB first.

    the commandset $20 to $2D makes it easyer for propeller-use as you get 4 bytes in return the way the propeller stores a long.

    and "0" to "D" gives you everything as string - aka readable in PST.

    I have EXTENSIVE documentation for each command in the source-file of the firmware. Every Public function explains the returned value.
    way more understandable than that Table in the pdf.

    download and look into the source - you find all you need.

    and there is plenty of space left on the second propeller you already have in your system ...

    enjoy!

    Mike
    .
  • SeekerSeeker Posts: 58
    edited 2012-04-16 18:16
    It does look good... and I should be able to squeeze in an I2C peripheral or 3 (or 4) to free up more resources in the main prop. If I ran all of the sesors from the GPS board, that would add a lot more I could do in the main chip. I guess I need to buy a prop plug now... I am sure it will come in handy in the future. My old homebrew RS-232 adapter probably still works. But try finding an RS-232 port on my laptop.

    Recently I've gotten spoiled by proto boards and propsticks. ;)
Sign In or Register to comment.