Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The binary programmable Interface based on a prop " 70s wire wrap micro throw back". — Parallax Forums

The binary programmable Interface based on a prop " 70s wire wrap micro throw back".

rwgast_logicdesignrwgast_logicdesign Posts: 1,464
edited 2012-04-13 18:50 in Robotics
I started programming at the age of 12 with QBasic (Acually GW-Basic on an 8088 for the first few months) on a hand me down 386. A few years later I got a job programming with Visual Basic and SQL on Windows 2000 p3 setup. Being 17 in the very early 2000’s with a coding job I thought I was hot stuff. My friends and I decided we wanted to make a mod for Quake 3, so I bought a couple C books and got to work. This is about the time I realized all my really High-Level programming experience and Windows trouble shooting hadn’t amounted to squat! I Still didn’t know how a computer worked or what was going on in the beige box when I ran that VB or C code. To me it was all magic, I knew computers worked in binary but how in the world does an if statement in a high level language get turned into all those 0s and 1s, and even more confusing to me was how do those off and on voltage signals equate to what im seeing on the screen. I mean staring at a web page or changing the contrast of a picture in photoshop is so far abstracted from the hardware its overwhelming.